Hillesum, Etty-Etty-The Letters and Diaries of Etty Hillesum 1941-1943

Artikelnummer: 9780802939596
Vorige Artikel 3 van 23 Volgende
€ 20,00 (inclusief btw)
Voorraad 1 stuk

Etty, The Letters and Diaries of Etty Hillesum 1941-1943, complete and unabridged, edited by Klaas A.D. Smelik and translated by Arnold J. Pomerans. 
This body of work reveals the interior life of a brilliant young Jewish woman. Born in January 1914, Etty Hillesum began her diary in 1941, nine months after Hitler invaded her home country of the Netherlands. The record she kept for the next two years contains arresting personal reflections and chronicles her social, intellectual, and - most significantly - spiritual growth. In addition to her ongoing search for God and truth, one of the most noted and instructive features of Etty's development was her recognition of, and her struggle to overcome, the disorder within her own being. It was her success in finally transcending her own sense of captivity within that allowed her to rise above cruel and fearsome circumstances without.
Indeed, in the midst of the horrors of the Nazi Holocaust, Etty's writings reveal a woman who celebrated life and remained an undaunted example of courage, sympathy, and compassion. Letters that she wrote to friends during her internment at the Westerbork transit camp poignantly describe the day-to-day horrors that the Jewish prisoners faced. Nonetheless, Etty's courage and determination remained strong, allowing her to rise above the hate around her and express her irrepressible faith in humanity. As she wrote in her last letter, thrown from the train that took her to her death at Auschwitz, ''We left the camp singing.''

Specificatie Omschrijving
Schrijver Etty Hillesum
Titel Etty-The Letters and Diaries of Etty Hillesum 1941-1943
Uitgever William B. Eerdmans Publishing Company-Novalis
Plaats van uitgave Grand Rapids-Ottawa
Jaar van uitgave 2002
Aantal pagina's 800 blz.
Bijzonderheden Gebonden, paar kleine scheurtjes in stofomslag, verder in keurige staat.
ISBN of EAN 9780802939596
© 2010 - 2021 Boekenstek | sitemap | rss | webwinkel beginnen - powered by Mijnwebwinkel